Arsenal Football Club (also known as Arsenal, The Arsenal or The Gunners) are an English professional football club based in Holloway, North London. They play in the Premier League and are one of the most successful clubs in English football, having won thirteen First Division and Premier League titles and ten FA Cups, and hold the record for the longest uninterrupted period in the English top flight.

Arsenal were founded in 1886 and were the first Southern club to join the Football League, in 1893. They won their first major trophies in the 1930s, with five League Championship titles and two FA Cups. After a lean period in the post-war years they became the second club of the 20th century to win the League and FA Cup Double in 1970–71, and during the past twenty years have recorded a series of successes – in this time Arsenal have won a Cup Double, two further League and FA Cup Doubles, the Premier League title unbeaten, and became the first London club to reach the UEFA Champions League Final.

The club’s colours have traditionally been red and white, although these have evolved through history. Similarly, the club have changed location over time; the team were initially founded in Woolwich, south-east London, but in 1913 they moved north across the city to Arsenal Stadium, Highbury. In 2006 they made a less drastic move to their current home, the Emirates Stadium in nearby Holloway.

Arsenal have a large fanbase, who hold a string of long-standing rivalries with several other clubs; the most notable of these is with neighbours Tottenham Hotspur, with whom they regularly contest the North London derby. Arsenal are one of the richest clubs in English football (valued at over £600m as of 2008), and thanks to their stature, have regularly featured in portrayals of football in British culture. Arsenal Ladies are the most successful English club in women’s football and are also affiliated with the club.

Full name Arsenal Football Club
Nickname(s) The Gunners
Founded 1886 as Dial Square
Ground Emirates Stadium
(Capacity: 60,355[1])
Owner Arsenal Holdings plc
Chairman Peter Hill-Wood
Manager Arsène Wenger

Current squad
No. Player
1 Manuel Almunia
2 Abou Diaby
3 Bacary Sagna
4 Cesc Fàbregas
5 Kolo Touré (vice-captain)
7 Tomáš Rosický
8 Samir Nasri
9 Eduardo
10 William Gallas (captain)
11 Robin van Persie
12 Carlos Vela
14 Theo Walcott
15 Denílson
16 Aaron Ramsey
17 Alexandre Song
18 Mikaël Silvestre
19 Jack Wilshere
20 Johan Djourou
21 Łukasz Fabiański
22 Gaël Clichy
24 Vito Mannone
25 Emmanuel Adebayor
26 Nicklas Bendtner
27 Emmanuel Eboué
28 Amaury Bischoff
35 Francis Coquelin
38 Jay Emmanuel-Thomas
40 Kieran Gibbs
41 Gavin Hoyte
42 Henri Lansbury
43 Fran Mérida
46 Abu Ogogo
47 Mark Randall
50 Jay Simpson
56 Emmanuel Frimpong
Players out on loan
No. Player
6 Philippe Senderos (at Milan until June 2009)
30 Armand Traoré (at Portsmouth until June 2009)
33 Nacer Barazite (at Derby County until December 2008)
45 Håvard Nordtveit (at UD Salamanca until June 2009)
54 Vincent van den Berg (at FC Zwolle until June 2009)
–– Pedro Botelho (at UD Salamanca until June 2009)
–– Kerrea Gilbert (at Leicester City until June 2009)



* First Division or Premier League[85] (English football champions)

Winners (13): 1930–31, 1932–33, 1933–34, 1934–35, 1937–38, 1947–48, 1952–53, 1970–71, 1988–89, 1990–91, 1997–98, 2001–02, 2003–04
Runners-up (8): 1925–26, 1931–32, 1972–73, 1998–99, 1999–2000, 2000–01, 2002–03, 2004–05

* Second Division[85]

Runners-up (1): 1903–04

* FA Cup

Winners (10): 1929–30, 1935–36, 1949–50, 1970–71, 1978–79, 1992–93, 1997–98, 2001–02, 2002–03, 2004–05
Runners-up (7): 1926–27, 1931–32, 1951–52, 1971–72, 1977–78, 1979–80, 2000–01

* League Cup

Winners (2): 1986–87, 1992–93
Runners-up (4): 1967–68, 1968–69, 1987–88, 2006–07

* Charity Shields and Community Shields[86]

Winners (12): 1930, 1931, 1933, 1934, 1938, 1948, 1953, 1991 (shared), 1998, 1999, 2002, 2004
Runners-up (7): 1935, 1936, 1979, 1989, 1993, 2003, 2005


* UEFA Champions League

Runners-up (1): 2005–06

* European Cup Winners’ Cup

Winners (1): 1993–94
Runners-up (2): 1979–80, 1994–95

* Inter-Cities Fairs Cup

Winners (1): 1969–70

* UEFA Cup

Runners-up (1): 1999–2000

* UEFA Super Cup

Runners-up (1): 1994

2 Responses to History

  1. ldngooner says:

    Nice post, especially for the youngsters, well done.

  2. REA CARDWELL says:

    arsenal are honeslty one of the strongest footballing sides in the world , but i suggest just like weve seen in the past with henry that when arsenal have a top goal scorer / not adebayor they dominate everything they compete in this year all arsenal need is a quality goal scoring forward ….. and some may think a decent keeper

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: